1893 Mthwakazi Restoration Movement

New to the Movement? Click to play our Welcome Message.

Visit and Share on social media

The internal Settlement Marginalised Matabeleland and ZANU government continued from there...

  • 16 Jul 2017 2:05 AM
    Message # 4978381

    When the internal settlement was formed, MaShonaland region got represented by Chief Chirawu, Manicaland by Bishop Muzorewa and Victoria region by Ndabaningi Sithole in the ESCO that formed the collective presidency with Ian Douglas Smith representing the whites. All the three regions happened to form one country, Zimbabwe. Matabeleland was not represented in the Council of Four. The Cabinet which made all the decisions was also dominated by the Zimbabwe Ministers, with only four from Matabeleland out of 18 Ministers.

    Did you know that the only ZANU member of parliament in Matabeleland in 1980 was a Shona? Even though Nkala was more senior than Ushewokunze, Nkala was lower down in the ZANU Matabeleland list of MP candidates. 1980 elections were proportional representation based.

    Ngiyitshiya lapha lendaba.



Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software